The Economic Community of Central African States (ECCAS), created in October 1983 and its General Secretariat set up in January 1985, has eleven (11) Member States, namely Angola, Burundi, Cameroon, the Central African Republic, Congo, Gabon, Equatorial Guinea, DR Congo, Sao Tome & Principe and Chad.

A pivotal and strategic geographic position

Located in the heart of the continent, Central Africa is a crossroads of land, air and sea trade routes and the only contact space between West Africa, North Africa, East Africa and Southern Africa.

Abundant natural resources

This pivotal strategic position is coupled with significant petroleum resources, deposits of precious metals and minerals, gigantic transboundary water resources:

    • Significant resources, notably petroleum, mineral and mining (diamonds, copper, iron, manganese, cobalt, etc.), some of which are world-class deposits. Proven oil reserves for the region are estimated at 31.3 billion barrels, or 28% of the continent’s total reserves; Significant agricultural, forestry and hydraulic potential. The Congo Basin, estimated at 227 million hectares, is home to the second largest forest and hydraulic reserve in the world. It is therefore one of the lungs of the planet;
    •  The richness of its ecosystem: around 26,355 m3 of water per inhabitant per year, 27 million hectares of arable land, 135 million hectares of pasture and four ecological zones favorable to the development of agriculture and pastoral activities;
    • Relatively significant hydroelectric potential, i.e. 60% of the potential of the African continent.